Two doors, one wall, Manchester

I had a bit of a mooch around the Northern Quarter the other afternoon, I didn’t have much time and didn’t take many photos, but here are a few which I liked from my mini outing.

The blue door is in the patch of land bounded by Oldham Road, Wing Yip and Swann Street, I have photographed it in the past, but I think that it’s own particular brand of decay and rust has reached peak-photogenic status and had to be recorded.

Anthony Burgess appears courtesy of the Cities of Hope Festival street art event which has been adding some impressively monumental murals to the already well decorated streets of the NQ.  This one appealed to me particularly as I was in the middle of reading One Hand Clapping by Mr B and thoroughly enjoying it.  So this was well timed!  The piece was created by artist Tankpetrol (now based in Manchester, so I’m looking forward to seeing more of his work around), you can read about it’s creation here

The yellow door and passerby should really be in with my previous blog post (Roadside Abstracts) as it was shot on that occasion, but didn’t fit in with my almost monochromatic abstracts from that outing.  So here it is in a blaze of summery yellow and dark shadows.  I usually avoid shadowy prints, preferring a more even look, but this just caught my eye.

 

 

Leave a Reply

